MIM MLA Mumtaz Ahmed Khan To Take Oath As Pro-Term Speaker Today


Hyderabad: MIM MLA Mumtaz Ahmed Khan will take oath today as pro-tem speaker of TS Assembly at Raj Bhavan. The oath will be administered by Mr. ESL Narasimhan, Governor of AP and TS.

Notably Mr. Khan, a MIM MLA is the senior most member of TS Assembly. He was elected to the Assembly for the 6th time.

Hyderabad City Police, Addl. Commissioner (Traffic), Mr. Anil Kumar informed that certain traffic curbs have been imposed after 5 p.m. on Wednesday.

Parking of the cars of MPs and newly elected MLAs will be at gate number 3 of Raj Bhavan. For media persons, parking arrangements have been made at Dilkusha Guest House. For the vehicles of VIPs and other Government Officials, MMTS parking lot has been identified. Single lane parking is allowed from Metro Residency to Nasar School and from Lakeview Guest house to Vishweshwariah Statue Junction.

Traffic coming from Monnappa Island will be diverted towards VV Statue Junction. Traffic will be suspended from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. at Panjagutta Raj Bhavan Quarters Road.

Earlier after Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) Chief, Mr. Asaduddin Owaisi on his twitter handle declared the name of the pro-term speaker of Telangana Assembly, BJP MLA Raja Singh had said he will not take oath in front of pro-term speaker whose party is against Hindus.

Mr. Owaisi had written on his Twitter handle , “MUMTAZ Ahmad Khan 6 term MLA of CHARMINAR from MIM will be made Pro-tem Speaker of Telangana Assembly, I am thankful to @TelanganaCMO KCR saheb”.

Reacting on the decision, BJP MLA, Mr. Raja Singh had criticized Chief Minister of Telangana State, Mr. KCR. He also declared that he would not take oath in front of MIM MLA.

“I don’t want to take oath in front of a pro-tem speaker whose party is against Hindus. They never sing Vande Mataram and never say Bharat Mata ki Jai”, said Raja Singh. 

He also had said that if Mr. KCR makes changes in the decision, it will send a good message in the State.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here