TDP is likely to secure 4 berths, while JD(U) is expected to get 2

by Abbas Adil

Shafaqna India: Ahead of Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi’s oath-taking ceremony on Sunday, political circles are buzzing with speculation about the composition of the NDA 3.0 Council of Ministers.

Although there is no official word on the new Cabinet’s structure, BJP sources suggest the possible inclusion of three former chief ministers—Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh), Manohar Lal Khattar (Haryana), and Basavaraj Bommai (Karnataka).

Sources indicate that Suresh Gopi, BJP’s first-ever MP from Kerala, is highly likely to become a minister. The Prime Minister is expected to reward leaders from states where the party performed well, including Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, and Telangana. Among the potential ministers from these states are D Purandeshwari from Andhra Pradesh, Bandi Sanjay from Telangana, former Assam CM Sarbanand Sonowal, former Tripura CM Biplab Deb, and outgoing minister Kiren Rijiju from Arunachal Pradesh. In Jammu and Kashmir, it remains to be seen whether the PM will retain Udhampur MP and MoS (PMO) Jitender Singh or accommodate Jammu MP Jugal Kishore.

Additionally, all eyes will be on the future of BJP president JP Nadda, whose term ends on June 16, and top outgoing ministers Rajnath Singh (Defence), Amit Shah (Home), Nirmala Sitharaman (Finance), and S Jaishankar (External Affairs). There is also interest in the role of I&B Minister Anurag Thakur, who retained the Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat for the fifth consecutive time, achieving significant seniority in the Lok Sabha.

Sources suggest Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, and S Jaishankar may retain their positions, with some senior ministers potentially shifting to BJP organizational roles. Environment Minister Bhupender Yadav is a candidate for such a shift. Rajnath Singh could also serve as the NDA convener. Following BJP tradition, former party presidents like Nadda might be inducted into the Union Cabinet, as seen with Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh, and Amit Shah.

With Piyush Goyal elected to the Lok Sabha, the post of Rajya Sabha leader, which he currently holds, will need to be filled.

Regarding NDA allies, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the largest NDA constituent with 16 MPs after the BJP’s 240, could get four berths in the Council of Ministers (two Cabinet and two MoS). Probable ministerial candidates from the TDP include Rammohan Naidu (son of late Union Minister Yerannaidu and Srikakulam MP), GM Harish (Amalapuram (SC) MP and son of late Lok Sabha speaker GMC Balayogi), and Chittoor MP Daggumalla Rao.

The JD(U), with 12 MPs, could get two berths (one Cabinet and one MoS). Probable ministers from the JD(U) include former JD(U) chief Lalan Singh and Bharat Ratna Karpoori Thakur’s son, Rajya Sabha MP Ramnath Thakur.

All NDA allies are expected to be represented in the Modi Council of Ministers, with each likely receiving one berth.

You may also like

Leave a Comment