The BJP retains control over foreign affairs, home affairs, finance, and defense ministries

by Abbas Adil

Shafaqna India: On Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the retention of Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, and S. Jaishankar as the heads of the Home, Defence, Finance, and External Affairs ministries, respectively, in his new government.

These four ministers constitute the crucial Cabinet Committee on Security, which is chaired by the prime minister.

Among the newcomers, former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has been assigned the Agriculture and Rural Development ministries, while BJP President J.P. Nadda returns to the Health Ministry, a role he previously held before assuming leadership of the BJP.

Known for his efforts in expanding the highway network, Nitin Gadkari continues to oversee the Road Transport and Highways Ministry.

Notably, there are no Muslim members appointed as ministers in the new government.

Former Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar has been given the Housing and Urban Affairs and Power ministries.

Ashwini Vaishnaw, known for his contributions to the railways and information technology sectors, retains these portfolios and also assumes the Information and Broadcasting Ministry.

Dharmendra Pradhan and Piyush Goyal continue to lead the Education and Commerce and Industry ministries, respectively.

Hardeep Singh Puri retains the Petroleum and Natural Gas Ministry but relinquishes the Housing and Urban Affairs Ministry.

President Droupadi Murmu allocated portfolios to 72 members of the Union Council of Ministers as advised by Prime Minister Modi.

Kiren Rijiju moves from Earth Sciences to the Parliamentary Affairs Ministry, while Arjun Ram Meghwal remains the Law Minister, and Sarbananda Sonowal retains the Shipping portfolio. Bhupender Yadav continues as the Environment Minister.

You may also like

Leave a Comment